hindoe media groep

Brahma is the first born. He is the source of all knowledge. He is the creator of the Universe. Brahma is the god of creation. He is one of the three main Hindu gods, which include Lord Vishnu and Lord Siva.
He sits or stands on a lotus which has sprouted from Lord Vishnu’s naval. He has four heads, usually bearded, four arms, and matted hair. His skin is pink or red coloured, the colour of heat and fire. He wears a tiger hide or black antelope hide.
His four faces represent the four Vedas and the four yugas.
His four hands represent the four directions. In time he had to give up his creation powers in favour of Vishnu, Shiva and Devi. He became less important.

The duration of the universe is equal to the 100 years life of Brahma. One year of Brahma has 360 days. One day of Brahma is a thousand cycles of the four yugas (known as a kalpa, which equals 4.32 billion years. His night is the same. He lives for 100 years.

Attributes :

Bow and Arrow (Bana and Dhanusha):
Bana is an arrow. It is the symbol of power of love.
The arrow symbolizes the male aspects and the bow the female aspects.
Dhanusa is a bow. It is generally carried in the left hand. It is the symbol of death wish.

Lotus (Padma) :
Padma is a lotus which may be of any colour except blue. The blue lotus is designated by the word Utpala or Nilotpala. The padma is the day lotus, while Utpala stands for the night lotus. It is regarded as especially scared by all classes of Indians. Padma indicates purity of descent, happiness and eternal renewal.

Book (Pustaka) :
It is a symbol of wisdom.
Hindu deities such as Brahma, Manjushree, Saraswati, Prajnaparnmitta and Avalokiteswar, Vasundhara are associated with, learning and arts.

Water carafe (Kamandalu) :
Water symbolizes life, fertility and wealth.
With the carafe it is possible to collect amrita, the nectar of life.
When needed the amrita can be poured out again.

Rosary (Akshamala):
It is symbol of the never ending cycle. It is a string of beads.
In Hindu tradition, Brahma, Shiva, Ganesha and Saraswati also carry it.

Protecting gesture of the hand:


Spoon (Shruk) :
With the spoon, ghee (purified butter) is offered up into the fire.

Riding animal :

He rides on a swan ( Hansa) or sits in the lotus position on a chariot pulled by seven swans. The swan symbolizes breath of life, boundless and knowledge.

Other names of Brahma :

Prajapati (=Cosmic Human, Lord of offspring)
Pitamaha (=the Great Father)

Consort of Brahma :

His children are Daksi, Dharma, Kama, Anger, Greed, Delusion (Maya), Lust, Joy, Death, Bharata and Angaja.

Hindoe.eu is onderdeel van hindoe mediagroep.eu
Deze website is gemaakt door Parkash Ramai